General Subaru Talk - Media / News / Stories ...
Cliff R
General Member

Post by Cliff R » Fri Apr 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Hi all
My name is Cliff and as a "watcher" for a while decided to post a message.
I'm from the Upper Hunter region west of Newcastle in NSW. I have been driving for 30 years and about 17 cars later have settled down to Subaru's.
My first Subaru was an 88 L series wagon with dual range 4WD and my current machine is an 82 MY touring wagon which was an auto but is now a dual range with 3.7 diff/transmission. Current mods (apart from the auto to man conversion) are 2" Scorpion lift, modified air cleaner element to allow max air flow from all around the assembly, removal of the first muffler in the first stage of the exhaust system, and as of 2 days ago 14" rims with (I know they are too small) 185/60R14 tires (they came with the rims). The MY has the usual touring wagon options like carpet (don't like it), A/C, P/S, elec windows, full analogue dash and all the other nice stuff and completely original. Even has an original AUNGER rear window louver. All the interior is in about 95% pristine condition. Unfortunately, the metallic paint has not aged well and is in about 60% condition. It has 237,000 original k's on the clock. I have more to say but this can wait for future messages.

Bumpty
General Member

Post by Bumpty » Sat Apr 04, 2009 5:41 pm

Welcome mate, and you're more then welcome to throw some pics up ;)
If you want rubber for some offroading ability, 14" are a great improvement over the stock 13", also I don't think going to a 15" on the older scubes is much better then 14". So stick with yours. But for street, who knows. Probably throw some 19s under it.... :O haha. What rims are they by the way?

AlpineRaven

Post by AlpineRaven » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:33 pm

awesome.. sounds good yeah... toss some pics of your Subaru!
Sounds good yeah...
Catch ya sometime..
Cheers
AP
Subarus that I have/had: