EA82 Conversion

General Subaru Talk - Media / News / Stories ...
timmo

EA82 Conversion

Post by timmo » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:09 pm

G'day all,

i'm new to this online forum thing, so cut me some slack on my first go!
I've got an 87 sportswagon running standard EA82 and 5spd with dual range - I'm very keen to undertake an E82T conversion. I'm currently sounding out the the owner of an 88 leone sedan with EA82T and auto trans to see if hes keen to part with it. Would this conversion be straight forward? ie is the bell housing the same? His car is fulltime AWD, will my part time 'box be ok? Is there anything else I need about this conversion before I commit to the purchase?

Cheers,

Timmo

wrx_nut

Post by wrx_nut » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:27 pm

ive done this conversion myself..... if your car is currently a carby motor you will need the EFI fuel tank and pump and the efi computer & loom to fit in the car also.... your standard 5spd dual range box will bolt up without any hassels...

also you need to cut and modify the engine cross member to make room for the turbo up pipe...or unbolt and rebolt a turbo crossmember in

hope this is some help to you....

wrx_nut
85' Touring Wagon, EA82T, 3" Lift, 27's, RS intercooler
90' Brumby (B&S Project!) still cutting rust :P

MUDRAT

Post by MUDRAT » Mon Aug 07, 2006 6:43 pm

Did you wanna keep the slushbox? The dual range is the better transmission in my opinion, would make the conversion a whole lot easier. Do you know what your final drive ratio is?

You've come to the right place anyway, all the regular contributors here have done serious conversions; unlike many forums flaming is also very minimal here (and we'll keep it that way eh SubaMike?!?:p).
Monster Subaru sold to a good home!! Still a Subaru owner. Will try stay in the Ausubaru loop. Sorry :cool:

Outback bloke

Post by Outback bloke » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:38 pm