L Series CV noob questions

Get the most out of your Engine / Gearbox with these handy hints ...
GOD

L Series CV noob questions

Post by GOD » Tue Jun 03, 2008 3:56 pm

Possibly a dumb question, but I'm new to front wheel drive, so bear with me please: what's the trick to getting a front CV through the wheel bearings? I found a scanned page of a workshop manual on the forum, which says to put the nut on the end of the CV and do that up to pull the shaft through, but that's proving quite difficult. I don't want to lean on the spanner too hard, because the big nut is just against the outside bearing (because there isn't enough shaft through to get the hub on and do up the nut against that).

I have both ball joints undone, the base of the strut is out, and the gearbox end of the CV is in. What's the best way to go about it?

AndrewT

Post by AndrewT » Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:36 pm

Yeah alot of the time it just won't go through far enough to grab it with the bolt.
Try cleaning the outer stub up, it might have some surface rust, hit it with some fine sand paper.
Otherwise here's how I tackle it for both sides...

1 - separate the hub from the base of the strut (looks like you already have)
2 - separate the hub from the balljoint
3 - separate the hub from the steering rack tie-rod end
4 - remove the hub from the car
5 - stand the driveshaft up on the inner CV, so the outer CV is pointing up to the sky
6 - ensure the metal locator ring in the hub (located between the inner and outer bearing races) is centered.
7 - put the hub over the outer CV
8 - tap the hub with a hammer in different positions each time, work your way around. This will get the stub to come through a little at a time with gravity helping too.