GPS help

How to get from A to B & devices used ...
stephendean

GPS help

Post by stephendean » Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:44 pm

Being an absolute beginner where GPS is concerned, and my Ministry of Finance wants to buy me a GPS for my birthday. We are wondering what to get. We have loknig around at the Navman PIN570 and the iCN 320 and some of the explorist models. What we want is maps of oz of course. The ability to add places we have visited, so that we can return. 4wd trackes etc marked on them, we have a tendancy to turn down a track because it might go somewhere interesting, so we want to be able to return from where we came. So all you forum members get you collective knowledge together and overwhelm me with info - which I will just pass on to the wife . Give me your suggestions and what they can or cannot do. Then we will decide if we can afford it.

Thanks in advance

Chris_Rogers
General Member

Post by Chris_Rogers » Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:47 pm

for OZ the navman units will ork- get the more expensive item as it holds the enitire map of oz . the smaller cheaper one doesn't. they do not list dirt tracks so for that you would need a garmin 'PROPER' gps unit as the navman will indicate a blank screen. both items will give you exact numerical co-ordinates as well.

look for one that will let you have an external antenna. reason for this being , they will get lost if they do not have a decent line of sight to the open sky.

I have two of the units in my vans and like them.( mine are Blaupunkt though.)
Audio Express

1987 HR31 Nissan skyline
1990 R32 Nissan Skyline GTS4

2006 Holden Combo - work van :)

Matt
General Member

Post by Matt » Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:41 pm