The Red Barron.

Detailed reference pages on Members special projects ...
Morrie

The Red Barron.

Post by Morrie » Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:44 pm

Hi I bought my brumby about a year and a half ago.

Bought it with damage so thats where i started the rebuild, just worked out how to do the photo's on here so i'll post them in a time line as the build has been going..

As i bought it, nice big dint in rear quarter, rear supension was bent including rear crossmember.. but ute was only $700 and only rust is a tiny stop under rear window rubber, maybe size of 20c.. so good, starting point with full life left in the body..

I bought a rear quarter from the wreckers as well as the rear control arm and a crossmember, a few other things had to be changed for rego like a CV and some gearbox mounts.

I do all the work myself and this is my first attempt at replacing a section of a car, i worked out almost perfect.

these photo are after i did a 6 stud conversion and found some 16 inch rims off a Navara, the 6 stud conversion was mainly to get a bigger range of rims to use.

Morrie

Post by Morrie » Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:59 pm

The next step was the interior, thought i would run sony stereo system in this car, i have been a fan of Kenwood for year so i though i would try something new.

Went for the Sony explode stuff, it's pretty good price and sounds pretty good, i got hold of 2 x 4inch 250 watt, 2x 6inch 300 watt, 2x 6x9inch 350 watt and a 1000 watt 12 inch sub, also running an amp for the sub and head unit with Ipod input.

Built a vented sub box with seperate box's for the 6x9's, the box fits behind the seats and i don't lose any seat adjustment..

I installed the pods in the front doors for the 6 inch speakers.

Everything is trimmed in grey carpet to match the floor and dash..

Morrie

Post by Morrie » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:23 pm

I thought i would do a bit of airbrushing on the interior, i have an airbrushing business so i tend to paint everything i can get my hands on.