What's better auto awd or dual range M

Any thing and every thing ever asked about how to do an EJ conversion to an L series and MY. Includes Brumby and Coupe.
velocityboy

What's better auto awd or dual range M

Post by velocityboy » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:48 pm

I'm doing am going to do a EJ20t conversion on my brumby,the half cut I have is auto AWD. I have no experience with offroading so I am unsure if the single range auto awd would be a disadvantge over the dual range manual. I plan to do some mild beach and bush driveing. Any advise would be appreciated.:confused:

AlpineRaven

Post by AlpineRaven » Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:57 pm

for me.. i've driven automatics, they do well off roads but in some areas you will find that you wish used dual range low gearing in some situations.

I think low range (dual range) is better off than automatics, specially going down hill - you will need to brake more often than dual range where dual range will help you to slow down....
Cheers
AP
Subarus that I have/had:
1995 Liberty "Rallye" - 5MT AWD, LSD - *written off 25/8/06 in towing accident.
1996 Liberty Wagon - SkiFX AWD 5MT D/R, Lifted.. Outback Sway Bar, 1.59:1 Low Gearing see thread: 1.59:1 in EJ Box Page
Sold at 385,000kms in July 2011.
2007 Liberty BP Wagon, 2.5i automatic

vincentvega

Post by vincentvega » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:08 pm

auto rules on the beach. no question

auto is much more useable uphill in the bush. you can gently ease on power to climb over obstacles. in some instances though the tall gearing can mean you run out of puff.. but this is generally on the tougher tracks.

descending in the bush manual has the advantage. an auto gives you bugger all engine braking
brumbyrunner wrote:And just to clarify the real 4WD thing, Subarus are an unreal 4WD.

RSR 555
Elder Member

Post by RSR 555 » Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:31 am

IMO, Auto, Reasons are..

1. No questions that beach driving is best